Skip to main content



National Executive

Posted on February 26, 2014

Left to right: Outgoing APC National Co-Chairs Cherish Clarke, Chad Cowie. Incoming National Co-Chairs Caitlin Tolley, Kevin Seesequasis.

For Immediate Release

June 3, 2016

Between May 26-29th 2016, thousands of federal liberal delegates gathered in Winnipeg, Manitoba/Treaty 1 and Red River Métis Territory for the Liberal Party of Canada’s (LPC) Biennial Convention.

For both the Indigenous Peoples’ Commission (IPC) and the LPC there were many moments and examples to be proud of. From changing the name of the commission to beginning the convention for incoming and outgoing IPC executive with a pipe ceremony – the convention in Winnipeg celebrated Indigenous nations and peoples alongside the success of the party’s victory in the October 2015 federal election.

During #WPG2016, the IPC was thankful to not only host the Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, Dr. Carolyn Bennett, and the Honourable Paul Martin as guest speakers at its Biennial General Meeting, but to also introduce its incoming National Executive for the 2016/2018 term:

“We are all thankful for the opportunity to hold these positions and know there is much work ahead of us to get done – we are committed to doing that work” Chad Cowie, Co-Chair (Male) of the IPC, stated. “I am so proud to stand with a committed and passionate executive who know it’s not just about winning elections but also about serving our people, our communities, and our country,” Added Lisa Abbott, Co-Chair (Female) of the IPC.

In addition to electing a new IPC National Executive, more than a dozen Indigenous policy resolutions were put forth and passed, such as the IPC’s priority resolution on Indigenous Youth Suicide Strategy.

The IPC would also like to thank Indigenous and non-Indigenous attendees for their support, and participation, whether in person or through social media, during #WPG2016.

For more information on the Indigenous Peoples’ Commission, please contact:

Joshua Fraser

IPC Vice-President, Communications


– 30 –

For more information on the Indigenous Peoples’ Commission, please contact us.

Presidents of IPC Provincial and Territorial Commissions

Help spread the word by sharing this with your friends.

Short link:

Email this to your friends.
Sender: Sender:
Recipients: Recipients:

Load from: Gmail · Yahoo! · Hotmail · AOL

Personal Message: Personal Message:

We will never share your email address.

We'd love to hear your opinion. Your comments won't be posted on the website.
Sender: Sender:

We will never share your email address.


February 10, 2018

February 10, 2018

The Indigenous Peoples’ Commission stands firmly with the family and loved ones of […]

Electing more Indigenous MPs »

June 21, 2018

We resolutely believe that Canada must have a renewed, nation-to-nation relationship with Indigenous Peoples, based […]

Faire élire plus de députés autochtones »

June 21, 2018

Nous sommes fermement convaincus que le Canada doit renouveler ses liens avec les peuples autochtones […]